Henrik Ibsen "A Doll's House"
Research guide and resources for "A Doll's House".
Library hours
Online Learning Readiness
Frequently Asked Questions
Recommend materials
Library Home
Career ResourcesCollege Links
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Video Introduction to the JSCC LibrariesFollow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Suggested Resources on Henrik Ibsen's "A Doll's House"
- From "Drama For Students"
"A Doll's House": Author biography; plot summary; characters; themes; style; historical context; critical overview; criticism; sources; further reading.
- Drama for Students: A Doll's House"A Doll’s House." Drama for Students, edited by David M. Galens and Lynn M. Spampinato, vol. 1, Gale, 1998, pp. 106-122. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2692600015/GVRL?u=avl_jeff&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=832accd4.
- Ibsen and FeminismFinney, G. (1994). Ibsen and feminism. In J. McFarlane (Ed.), The Cambridge Companion to Ibsen (Cambridge Companions to Literature, pp. 89-105). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. doi:10.1017/CCOL0521411661.006
- Henrik Ibsen: Master PlaywrightStreaming video from "Films On Demand": Ibsen's career can be divided into four periods. "A Doll's House" is written in the third period and is the most influential play ever written. It is about the fulfillment of women's destiny. View a short segment on "A Doll's House".
Humanities Insights by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781847600592Publication Date: 2008-01-01The book discusses responses to Ibsen, especially those of George Bernard Shaw and William Archer in London, and the relationship of the play to issues of theatrical censorship. The character of Nora leads into a discussion of feminism, and her relationship with Torvald and the performance of the crucial tarantella is sensitively discussed.
- Reading A Doll's House Act 1From Humanities Insight.
- Reading A Doll's House Act 2From Humanities Insight.
- Reading A Doll's House Act 3From Humanities Insight.
- From Gale Literary SourcesA direct link to peer-reviewed articles from the Gale Literary Sources literature database.
- From Literary Reference Center PlusDirect link to peer-reviewed articles from the Literary Reference Center Plus literature database.
The Literature Databases
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowBloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. The wide range of material in this award-winning database includes content from Facts On File’s extensive literature collection; hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers; thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; more than 4,300 video clips; more than 2,700 full-text poems; and more than 9,000 discussion questions on a range of literary topics.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowUnlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose.
- Short Stories for Students
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. [Digital access from Volume 1 through the current edition] - How to Use Short Stories for StudentsAccess a brief tutorial on searching Short Stories for Students.
- Drama for StudentsProvides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
- How to use "Drama For Students"Access a brief tutorial on using "Drama For Students".
- Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Center Plus includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
- Films On Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowAt Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.