Henrik Ibsen "A Doll's House"
Research guide and resources for "A Doll's House".
Process of Writing
- Writing Guide with Handbook (OpenStax)Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses.
- Elements of Style, 4th EditionCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9789897782442This edition of 'The Elements of Style'details eight elementary rules of usage, ten elementary principles of composition,'a few matters of form', and a list of commonly misused words and expressions.
Formatting & Citations
Evaluating Sources
Avoid Plagiarism
MLA Formatting from Purdue's Online Writing Lab
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2021.
Streaming Video on College Writing Skills
- Writing EssentialsStudents who’ve had a hard time with term papers and essay questions may be shocked to learn how much their postgraduation world revolves around writing. This streaming video program shows how effective written communication is possible for anyone, even those who struggle to complete a simple fax or e-mail. Methods for improvement include gauging the needs of the reader, keeping prose short and simple, emphasizing benefits, avoiding jargon and overblown language, employing a confident yet respectful tone, and more.
- Communication EssentialsThis four-part streaming video series from Films On Demand helps college students improve their communication skills in four critical areas: listening, speaking, writing, and reading. Viewers are challenged to improve their habits and aim for several concrete goals—such as the ability to actively participate in discussions and meetings, to craft effective messages in speech or text, to process and understand workplace communication, and more.
Recommended Resources for Boosting Writing Skills
A Glossary of English Grammar by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780748617296Publication Date: 2006-05-19A Glossary of English Grammar presents a wide range of terms used to describe the way the English language is structured. Definitions of grammatical terms are given in simple language, with clear examples, many from authentic texts and spoken sources, showing how they are used.
Academic Writing by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781443850544Publication Date: 2013-10-01How do I improve my essay writing skills? Where can I learn quickly how to improve my speech writing? How does writing for the web differ from conventional writing? Are there some categories of mistakes that people commonly make in attempting to write good prose? How can I be persuasive in my writing style? How did language evolve? What is 'genre theory'? How do I become creative in my prose writing? These and other curious and relevant questions are answered in Academic Writing.
Literary Symbols, Terms, Theory
A New Handbook of Literary Terms by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780300106367Publication Date: 2007-06-01A New Handbook of Literary Terms offers a lively, informative guide to words and concepts that every student of literature needs to know.
Key Terms in Literary Theory by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780826442673Publication Date: 2012-05-31Students of literature, film and cultural studies need to understand key theoretical terms and concepts but often find it hard to get to grips with exactly what they mean. This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780521591287Publication Date: 1999-11-04This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than'universal'psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Michael Ferber has assembled nearly two hundred entries clearly explaining and illustrating the literary symbols that we all encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
Literary Theory by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780816654475Publication Date: 2008-04-02This concise and lucid volume offers a satisfying survey of all the major theories, from structuralism in the 1960s to deconstruction today, that have made academic criticism both intriguing and off-putting to the outsider. This classic work covers all of the major movements in literary studies in this century.
