Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
If You Build It, They Will Learn by Bruce YeanyIf You Build It, They Will Learn is the perfect do-it-yourself guide for physics teachers who want custom-made demonstration projects to use in their classrooms. Devices like GalileoOCOs Track, Coupled Pendulum, and Gum-Wrapper Thermostat will help you teach forces, energy, properties of matter, and much more. Best of all, you donOCOt need an engineering degree to assemble these devices. The book provides such detailed instructions that even novices can handle the necessary tasks and tools."
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2006
Meteorites by RoseMary Griffith; Sherman HansenShock impact alterations influence the structure, mineralogy, chemistry and the mechanical properties of many meteorites. The first chapter overviews the features and observing methods of shock impacts' results from several examples from various analysed meteorites. These case studies provide useful examples how the shock effects could be used to estimate former processes, conditions and outline geological history of meteorites. In the second chapter, a laboratory based analysis of meteorites provides insight to the readers into the ancient planet forming processes, when several protoplanets (larger than current asteroids) formed and changed both regarding their interiors and locations in the Solar System. The analysis of meteorites testifies that these objects might show variable characteristics even some internal activity, despite their relatively small size. In Chapter 3, the authors explore the number of meteorite finds in Northwest of Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Mauritania and Mali) which has seen a considerable increase since 1999. Their work leads to the creation of a new database of meteorites stemming from the Northwest of Africa. In turn, the reclassification of NWA meteorites certainly makes the meteorite heritage of Morocco and other countries of the Northwest of Africa valuable; a priceless heritage and of an inestimable scientific and socioeconomic value. In the last chapter, the authors examine a minimally contaminated material, which can be used for the analysis of the possible relations between Itokawa and the parent body of the Chelyabinsk meteorite.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2017
The Abyss of Time by Paul LyleWinner of the ASE Science Book of the Year Award 2016/17. Geologists are among that group of scientists who must factor the passage of time into their investigations and they thus have a perspective on time that sets them apart from many other researchers. The proposition that geological time is vast, encompassing thousands of millions of years, is relatively recent. It is a concept that remains controversial and unacceptable to many people today who still consider the Earth to have been made to a timetable covering no more than ten thousand years. Paul Lyle examines how our fascination with time has developed from our earliest ancestors' recognition of the cycles of the sun and the moon. It considers the passage of time as a series of non-repeatable events, Time's Arrow, in contrast to time as a series of repeated processes, Time's Cycle, both of which can be used to explain geological features on the Earth's surface. The author argues for a greater understanding of geological or 'deep time' as society becomes more aware of the vulnerability of the Earth's resources to over-exploitation by an expanding consumer society. This debate and the controversy surrounding global warming emphasises the importance of geological time to the process of economic and political decision-making. It is a book for those interested in the intellectual challenge presented by the extent of geological time. It is written for environmentalists and policy-makers who wish to better place their concerns and decisions in proper context but, above all, it is a book that offers to share a geologist's appreciation of time with the widest possible audience.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Four Revolutions in the Earth Sciences by James Lawrence PowellOver the course of the twentieth century, scientists came to accept four counterintuitive yet fundamental facts about the Earth: deep time, continental drift, meteorite impact, and global warming. When first suggested, each proposition violated scientific orthodoxy and was quickly denounced as scientific--and sometimes religious--heresy. Nevertheless, after decades of rejection, scientists came to accept each theory. The stories behind these four discoveries reflect more than the fascinating push and pull of scientific work. They reveal the provocative nature of science and how it raises profound and sometimes uncomfortable truths as it advances. For example, counter to common sense, the Earth and the solar system are older than all of human existence; the interactions among the moving plates and the continents they carry account for nearly all of the Earth's surface features; and nearly every important feature of our solar system results from the chance collision of objects in space. Most surprising of all, we humans have altered the climate of an entire planet and now threaten the future of civilization. This absorbing scientific history is the only book to describe the evolution of these four ideas from heresy to truth, showing how science works in practice and how it inevitably corrects the mistakes of its practitioners. Scientists can be wrong, but they do not stay wrong. In the process, astonishing ideas are born, tested, and over time take root.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Horizons in Earth Science Research by Benjamin Veress; Jozsi SzigethyThis book explores the most recent developments in earth science research. Chapter One discusses the geologic and ancient history of Dahr Safra, Syria. Chapter Two reviews the geographical distribution and geological occurrence of diatom ooze to diatomaceous sediments (diatomite) around the Japanese Islands, the Bering Sea and the Pacific coastal side of Peru and Chile, South America. Chapter Three explores the nature of tectonics and of axial tilt of the Earth. Chapter Four examines the major defects in the Toledo Bend Dam. Chapter Five proposes a projected-Gradient method for joint nonnegative matrix factorization to pansharpen multispectral data. Chapter Six discusses the main types of uranium deposits formed in a variety of geological and tectonic environments. Chapter Seven studies the unmixing of geological events by Gaussian deconvolution on Th-U-Pb age multicomponent data of monazite crystals of granite from São Francisco Craton (Brazil). Chapter Eight focuses on the properties and uses of the lanthanide series. Chapter Nine discusses concurrent design optimization of satellites and reconfigurable constellations. Chapter Ten assesses and compares vegetation indices, surface emissivity models and split-window algorithms used to estimate surface temperature from satellite images.
Today's Science bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries—giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology. Featured articles offer easy access to related content such as crossword puzzles, cartoons, and questions; additional articles that help place news and discoveries in context; and interviews with scientists that bring the research to life. An extensive backfile dating back to 1992 illustrates how one scientific advance leads to another; the stories focus on the questions scientists ask themselves and, in doing so, reinforce science educators' traditional emphasis on the scientific method. This essential STEM resource shows how the scientific method can be applied to everyday life, helping students think like scientists—applied science in a nutshell.
This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
At Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.
Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Ebooks from Credo
Key Discoveries in Physical Science by Katie MarsicoHow did our knowledge of matter, gravity, and electricity develop over time? Who first studied these concepts and why? And who used those early findings to expand and even change our understanding? Readers will trace the history of key discoveries in physical science as they investigate timelines and gather key details from the text. In doing so, students will make connections between the work of various scientists and analyze the long-term effects of their discoveries.
Publication Date: 2015
The Penguin Dictionary of Science by Mike ClugstonA fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of the comprehensive and renowned Penguin Dictionary of Science. The Penguin Dictionary of Science covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.
Publication Date: 2014
Earth by Susanna van Rose; Dorling Kindersley Publishing StaffThe most trusted nonfiction series on the market, Eyewitness Books provide an in-depth, comprehensive look at their subjects with a unique integration of words and pictures. How are earthquakes recorded? How was the Grand Canyon formed? How much of the Earth's surface is covered by water? Where do icebergs originate? With full-color photography and 3-D models of geological equipment, rocks, and minerals, Eyewitness: Earth is the perfect guide for gaining a better understanding of the secrets of life on our planet and how animals, plants, and the environment coexist.
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils by A. C. Bishop; William Roger Hamilton; Alan Robert Woolley; A. R. Woolley; W. R. HamiltonA detailed and extensively illustrated handbook. The colors, shapes and properties of minerals vary from the bland to the magnificent. Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils is a practical and authoritative handbook that is both comprehensive and easy to use. Each of the 600 specimens is shown in full color, sometimes in two or more forms. There are also drawings that show the structure of the crystalline specimens. It covers the basics like granite, as well as oddities like meteorites and tektites. Fossils include sponges, corals, arthropods, brachiopods, and fossil land plants. Each is described in detail, with notes on: color and transparency grain size hardness structure occurrence mineralogy distinguishing features habit cleavage texture alteration luster Mineral names, chemical formulae and structural data accord to international standards. This is a very complete, but attractive and useful volume in a respected series.