From "The Cambridge Companion to the European Novel". By Timothy Unwin; Edited by Michael Bell, University of Warwick
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
In this essay Peace examines the role of word play in “The Overcoat,” which, he argues, elucidates Gogol's central device of having the external world act as a metaphor for the internal world of the main character. From: The Voice of a Giant: Essays on Seven Russian Prose Classics
Publisher: University of Exeter
Reprint In: Short Story Criticism(Vol. 29. )
Count Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoy (1828-1910) is one of the most important writers in the Western tradition. His two great novels, War and Peace and Anna Karenina, cover an enormous range of basic human experiences with a precision and probing spirit that, in the words of one critic, are simply "unmatched by any other writer." This guide offers students a clear introduction to Tolstoy's literary works from his major novels to the shorter novels and texts, including Hadji Murat and The Death of Ivan Ilyich. The guide also covers major themes including sex, death, authority and evil and offers an overview of Tolstoy's religious and philosophical thought. A final chapter assesses his lasting influence in the spheres of literature and culture, religion and philosophy and on major figures including Joyce, Ghandi, Wittgenstein and Heidegger.
Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. The wide range of material in this award-winning database includes content from Facts On File’s extensive literature collection; hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers; thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; more than 4,300 video clips; more than 2,700 full-text poems; and more than 9,000 discussion questions on a range of literary topics.
At Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.
Literary Reference Center Plus includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. [Digital access from Volume 1 through the current edition]