Skip to Main Content

Biology 220 Microbiology (Arnold)

Bergey's Manual

The 5-volume set consists of the following:

  • Volume 1: The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria (also includes the road map to the manual)
  • Volume 2: The Proteobacteria--divided into three books:
    • 2A: Introductory essays
    • 2B: The Gammaproteobacteria
    • 2C: The Alpha-, Beta-, Delta-, and Epsilon-Proteobacteria (the library does not have this volume)
  • Volume 3: The Firmicutes
  • Volume 4: The Bacteroidetes, Spirochaetes, Tenericutes (Mollicutes), Acidobacteria, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Dictyoglomi, Gemmatimonadetes, Lentisphaerae, Verrucomicrobia, Chlamydiae, and Planctomyctes
  • Volume 5 (in two parts): The Actinobacteria

How to Use the Manual

The following video is from Skyline College and refers to an assignment that they are working on. The directions that the instructor (Kim Lim) provides are helpful, though, for your assignment. She discusses specifically how to use the Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology.

While the video above will show you how to use the manual, you can also use the steps below to help you with the process.

  1. Locate Volume 1 of the manual set
  2. Find Table 2: The Road Map to the Manual (pp. 142-155)
  3. Locate the genus from the alphabetical list. You will notice additional information such as the phylum, class, and volume.
  4. Find the volume listed with your chosen genus
  5. Once you have located the correct volume, turn to the "Index of Scientific Names of Archea and Bacteria" in the back of the volume and then turn to the bolded page number.