Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Journalism and Journalistic Writing: Introduction
From the Purdue OWL:
The most important difference between journalism and other forms of non-fiction writing is the idea of objectivity. Journalists are expected to keep an objective mindset at all times as they interview sources, research events, and write and report their stories. Their stories should not aim to persuade their readers but instead to inform. That is not to say you will never find an opinion in a newspaper—rather, journalists must be incredibly mindful of keeping subjectivity to pieces like editorials, columns, and other opinion-based content.
Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
At Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.
Discover pro/con perspectives from authoritative voices: Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
The explosion of electronic sources, whether in the form of news, commentary, sales and marketing, or information, has created boundless opportunities for producing content. Whether you're an entrepreneur with a start-up business who needs a website, an executive who uses social media to connect with various stakeholders, or a content provider blogging about topical issues, you'll need to know how to write for the web and address the unique environment of the digital world. This book will help you produce web content that generates results. Writing for the screen differs from writing for a printed page, and those who use the web to communicate in any genre-ads, articles, blogs, email blasts, newsletters, social media, or websites-must be aware of rhetorical considerations unique to writing for the web. This concise, easy-to-follow guide takes you through the underlying principles including web reader habits and the challenges of producing content across multi-platform formats. It also addresses web writing style and topics such as conciseness, tone, level of formality, and other writing techniques. Design as it pertains to the writer is also discussed. Finally, the book focuses on how to compose specific types of web content and provides useful "how to" guides covering the most commonly used genres.
Topics include the following:
Chapter 1: Writing as a Professional
Chapter 2: Web Writing Characteristics and Style
Chapter 3: Web Design Basics for Writers
Chapter 4: Writing Website Content
Chapter 5: Writing Newsletters and Web Articles
Chapter 6: Writing for Social Media
Chapter 7: Writing Other Frequently Used Web Genres
Most books on journalism today are either too complex to comprehend or too superficial. Barun Roy has really done a remarkably good job to fill a long-felt vacuum. This guide introduces basic tools of the applied journalism in simple language. It provides step-by-step instructions to develop skills in the field. Any person interested in journalism, mass communication and in public relations will find this book very interesting, informative and useful. It could even motivate you to contribute articles and features to newspapers and magazines as a freelance writer. Some salient features of the book: *What is journalism? *News Gathering. *News Lead. *Putting the Story together. *Writing in Newspaper Style. *Colourful News Feature. *Headline Story. *Journalism as a Career.
"What any body is--and is able to do--cannot be disentangled from the media we use to consume and produce texts." ---from the Introduction. Kristin Arola and Anne Wysocki argue that composing in new media is composing the body--is embodiment. In Composing (Media) = Composing (Embodiment), they havebrought together a powerful set of essays that agree on the need for compositionists--and their students--to engage with a wide range of new media texts. These chapters explore how texts of all varieties mediate and thereby contribute to the human experiences of communication, of self, the body, and composing. Sample assignments and activities exemplify how this exploration might proceed in the writing classroom.
With chapters on social media, videogames and human-machine communication, Dialogue across Media provides a comprehensive overview of the role of dialogue in contemporary media. Drawing on the expertise of scholars and practitioners from multiple fields and disciplines, including screenwriters, literary critics, linguists and new media theorists, each chapter provides an in-depth analysis of dialogue in action. Together, these chapters demonstrate the unique energy and versatility that dialogic forms can offer artists and readers alike, and the special role that dialogue plays in helping us to understand the complexities and contradictions of human interaction. Dialogue across Media provides an essential resource for students and specialists in many fields concerned with dialogue, including language and literature, media and cultural studies, narratology and rhetoric.
"If you want to get creative, make surplus income, be in control of your own hours, and potentially even change the world, then maybe it''s time to make the career change to freelance writing. This step-by-step guide will take you from your first paycheck to your ultimate goal: a career as a professional, full-time freelance writer with a byline that people will recognize.
Almost everyone reads the newspaper, browses the Internet, listens to the radio or watches TV. Journalism has an indelible effect on our worldview--from the fight against global terrorism to the American presidential elections, celebrity scandal to the latest environmental coups. Hargreavesuses his unique position within the media to examine how we get this information and the many practical, political and professional decisions that the journalist has to make, as part of the process of delivering that information to us.Is journalism the 'first draft of history' or a dumbing-down of our culture and a glorification of the trivial and intrusive? In this intriguing book Ian Hargreaves argues that the core principles of 'freedom of the press' and the necessity of exposing the truth are as vital today as they everwere.
When we encounter a news story, why do we accept its version of events? Why do we even recognize it as news? A complicated set of cultural, structural, and technological relationships inform this interaction, and Journalistic Authority provides a relational theory for explaining how journalists attain authority. The book argues that authority is not a thing to be possessed or lost, but a relationship arising in the connections between those laying claim to being an authority and those who assent to it.
Just as the explosive growth of digital media has led to ever-expanding narrative possibilities and practices, so these new electronic modes of storytelling have, in their own turn, demanded a rapid and radical rethinking of narrative theory. This timely volume takes up the challenge, deeply and broadly considering the relationship between digital technology and narrative theory in the face of the changing landscape of computer-mediated communication.