Jefferson State Community College Libraries: English 261 Rockett: John Milton

Process of Writing

Formatting & Citations

Evaluating Sources

Avoid Plagiarism

Grammar & Mechanics

English Grammar and Usage by Shrikant Prasoon
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9789350570784
Publication Date: 2013-10-31

Advanced Search
Use this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.

Students: Suggest Material
Students may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
Faculty and Staff: Request Library Acquisitions
Faculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.

Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' Website
Follow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
How to Use 'Search everything'
Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.

Research Starter: John Milton
Link out to a Research Starter on Milton.
Research Starter: Paradise Lost
Link out to a Research Starter on Milton's "Paradise Lost".
Streaming Video: Paradise Lost
Patterned on Greek and Roman classics, yet achieving a voice of its own by defying the strict dictates of classical subject matter, Milton’s epic poem is a masterpiece of monumental proportions. His diverse and often awesome use of language creates an effect as surreal and powerful as Dante’s Inferno. This program features probing analysis by Professors Thomas Winnifrith, University of Warwick, and Robert Wilcher, University of Birmingham. Topics include Milton’s creation of hell as one of the great imaginative accomplishments of literature. Also examined are the poem’s anti-Catholic tone; the use of the Narcissus myth; the weak, headmaster-like characterization of God; Eve as the strong, archetypal woman; Satan as hero; and criticism of Milton as a misogynist. A brief biography of Milton highlights philosophical debates of the period. (30 minutes)
Literary Criticism: Paradise Lost
From Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800. Ed. Michael L. LaBlanc. Vol. 92. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2003. From Literature Resource Center.

John Miltons Paradise Lost and the Problem of Evil
From Critical Insights: Good & Evil; 2012, p113-128, 16p: An essay is presented which examines the engagement of John Milton's poem "Paradise Lost" with the problem of evil. It highlights the engagement of the poem on theodicy by turning to Adam and Eve's Genesis account and the creation of humankind as its source of epic thinking. It discusses the study of literary critic Dennis Danielson to the poem of Milton who points out that the account of Milton of God's goodness resulted him through profound meaning to poetic and spiritual heights.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. The wide range of material in this award-winning database includes content from Facts On File’s extensive literature collection; hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers; thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; more than 4,300 video clips; more than 2,700 full-text poems; and more than 9,000 discussion questions on a range of literary topics.