Child Development Program
- Library Resources
- APA Style & Citation Guide This link opens in a new window
- Agencies & Professional Organizations
- Improve Your Skills
- Career Resources
- Computer Skills Center This link opens in a new window
- English as a Second Language This link opens in a new window
- Online Learning Readiness This link opens in a new window
Contact Your Librarian
Students: Use the interactive forms below to contact your campus librarian.
Instructors Only
- Request Custom ContentInstructors: Use this form to request a custom webguide of content from the library collection of online databases, streaming video, electronic books, and interactive instructional platforms.
- Request Library Instruction/OrientationRequest library orientation and skills instruction for classes or projects.
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Video Introduction to the JSCC LibrariesFollow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Streaming Videos in Child Development
- Child Development BasicsThis video follows a group of teens touring a child care center because they want to start a babysitting business and need to know more about what children can do at certain ages. As these babysitters-in-training observe infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and kindergartners, viewers will learn about the physical, intellectual, and social aspects of child development. A clever way to cover the subject! Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (16 minutes)
- Skills for Childcare WorkersWhether you’re currently working with children or preparing for a career in child care, this video will review the basic skills needed to be the most effective caretaker possible. Reviewing techniques will be helpful for you and the children in your care.
View Streaming Video Content by Subject Using the Links Below:
- Child DevelopmentLink out to over 159 titles in child development.
- Classroom ManagementLink out to over 56 titles in classroom management.
- Curriculum and InstructionLink out to over 952 titles in curriculum and instruction.
- Early Childhood EducationLink out to over 279 titles in early childhood education.
- Effective TeachingLink out to over 378 titles in effective teaching.
- Literacy and Language LearningLink out to over 57 titles in literacy and language learning.
Journals in Child Care
The Jefferson and Shelby LRCs subscribe to print editions of the following journals in child care:
- Exchange [Provides management and program ideas for leaders in early childhood programs.]
- Young Children [Professional peer-reviewed journal of the National Association for the Education of Young Children.]
- Young Exceptional Children [Written for teachers, early care and education personnel, educational administrators, therapists, families and others who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are at risk for future developmental problems.]
- Zero To Three [For professionals who work with or have an interest in very young children and their families.]
Electronic Journals in Child Care
Children's Book Reviews
The following scholarly journals provide reviews of children's books which include detailed descriptions and suggested reading level and age group.
- Book Links [A magazine designed for teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents and other interested adults in connecting children with books. Focuses on articles that target those people that educate children from preschool through eighth grade.]
- Booklist [Provides a guide to current print and nonprint materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.[
- Kirkus Reviews [Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.]
- School Library Journal [The most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries]
Journals in Education and Early Childhood Education
- Additional Titles in Child CareLink out to additional journals in child care.
- Additional Titles in Early Childhood EducationLink out to additional journals in early childhood education.
Additional Recommended Resources
- Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed specifically for the research needs of students at two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant Associates Program level content. It contains a wide range of essential full-text resources to help students succeed in their chosen field.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, provides citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowThis outstanding collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award® winners, and more. Teach with the best Hollywood has to offer and harness the storytelling power of film as a tool for engaging and inspiring students.
- Films On Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowAt Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.
- Films On Demand Master Career & Technical Education This link opens in a new windowThe Master Career & Technical Education Collection provides 24/7 access to thousands of videos on careers and job search; family and consumer sciences; guidance and counseling; and technical education.
- Elementary School ResourcesFrom the Alabama Virtual Library.
- Gale Elementary EbooksElementary age appropriate electronic books on the arts through social sciences.
- Teaching Books This link opens in a new windowAccess over 257,000 resources about children's and young adult books; meet the authors and illustrators with movies and recordings; access over 14,000 read-along audiobook performances; access over 1,600 complete book readings; available in 104 languages
For Educators:
Browse all book and author resources (PreK-12)
Customize booklists and collection analysis
Provide students with access to passages on over 35,000 books
Share resources through email and Google Classroom
- Last Updated: Apr 11, 2024 7:55 AM
- URL: https://library.jeffersonstate.edu/CDP
- Print Page