Jefferson State Community College Libraries: Speech: Additional information for speech topics, resources, and data

Locate resources

Advanced Search
Use this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.

Students: Suggest Material
Students may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
Faculty and Staff: Request Library Acquisitions
Faculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.

Video Introduction to the JSCC Libraries
Follow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' Website
Follow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
How to Use 'Search everything'
Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.

Alabama History
The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed by the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University with generous financial support from across the state.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. It is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Citations and links to book and media reviews are added benefits to the America: History and Life database. It provides strong English-language journal coverage, balanced by an international perspective on topics and events. This includes English abstracts for articles published in a variety of languages.

Careers, Professions, Trades
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States. Each occupational profile describes the duties required by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook into the next 10 years for that occupation. Each profile is in a standard format that makes it easy to compare occupations.
Diseases and Conditions
Is your speech about a disease or condition? Use the JSCC Library's Nursing Resources page to find scholarly articles on diseases, conditions, pharmaceutical information, and more.
United States Government
Official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government from the U.S. Government Publishing Office via the Federal Digital System. Search for documents and publications or browse for documents and publications by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.