English 101 Lucas
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Video Introduction to the JSCC LibrariesFollow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Suggested Resources
- Use the databases below to search topics such as:
- Food Insecurity
- The Mediterranean Diet
- MyPlate.gov
- French Cuisine
- Food Safety
- Food and Nutrition
- Blue Zones
- Credo Reference Library This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference offers over 3,000,000 reference entries from all the major academic subject areas to offer a great starting point for your research! Tons of images, audio files, videos and full text articles on any Topic you can think of, all with full citations that your teachers will applaud.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDiscover pro/con perspectives from authoritative voices: Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
- Health Source: Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Academic Edition indexes and abstracts over 560 scholarly journals and includes full text articles for over 520 journals focusing on medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health topics.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowVideos, Care Plans, Core Measures Topics and More. Master nursing best practices with the premier source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
Nutrition, Food, etc.... Ebooks
The Mediterranean Diet by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780124078499Publication Date: 2014-11-27The Mediterranean Diet offers researchers and clinicians a single authoritative source which outlines many of the complex features of the Mediterranean diet: ranging from supportive evidence and epidemiological studies, to the antioxidant properties of individual components. This book embraces a holistic approach and effectively investigates the Mediterranean diet from the cell to the nutritional well-being of geographical populations. This book represents essential reading for researchers and practicing clinicians in nutrition, dietetics, endocrinology, and public health, as well as researchers, such as molecular or cellular biochemists, interested in lipids, metabolism, and obesity.
Diet and Disease by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781606507339Publication Date: 2015-12-30Can food really take the place of medicine? While modern medicine certainly has its place and does more than its fair share of good, there is no denying that many of society's most perilous chronic diseases are exacerbated by poor diets. Whereas infectious diseases used to cause the most number of deaths, the impact of chronic diseases now far overshadows that of infectious diseases.
Diets and Dieting by ISBN: 9780415974202Publication Date: 2007-11-26Diets and dieting have concerned - and sometimes obsessed - human societies for centuries.
Food Cultures of France by ISBN: 9781440869655Publication Date: 2021-03-29As a comprehensive overview of French food from fine dining to street food and from Roman Gaul to current trends, this book offers anyone with an interest in French cuisine a readable guide to the country and its customs. In France, food is integral to the culture. From the Revolutionary cry for good bread at a fair price to the current embrace of American bagels and "French tacos," this book tells the full story of French food.
Nutrition and Disease: Prevention and TherapyISBN: 9781527546530
Food Insecurity by ISBN: 9781536102468Publication Date: 2016-01-01The U.S Department of Agriculture (USDA) defines food insecurity as uncertainty of having, or unable to acquire enough food to meet the needs of their members because of insufficient money or other resources for food at times during the year.
Alleviating Food Insecurity with SNAP by ISBN: 9781634848107Publication Date: 2016-01-01The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly called the Food Stamp Program, is designed primarily to increase the food purchasing power of eligible low-income households to help them buy a nutritionally adequate low-cost diet. This book describes the rules related to eligibility for SNAP benefits as well as the rules for benefits and their redemption. It also provides an overview of the problem of food insecurity in the United States and the important role that SNAP plays in addressing it.
