NUR 221: Advanced Evidence Based Clinical Reasoning
This guide is designed for students who are in their final semester of the nursing program.
- Resources for Graduating Students
- National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses
- Regulatory Agenices
- Job and Career Accelerator
APA Citations
- APA, 7th EditionThis page contains videos and links to external sites where you can learn how to use the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association style guide correctly in your paper.
- APA Style Guide from the OWL at PurdueAPA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
- Video: Create APA Citations Using the OwlThis video will provide step-by-step instructions on how to create APA-style citations using Microsoft Word. This information can also be used for Google Docs. *You must login with your Jeff State email address to access the video.
Evaluating Resources
How do you locate good information?
JSCC Library Resources for Nursing
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowVideos, Care Plans, Core Measures Topics and More. Master nursing best practices with the premier source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.
- Made Incredibly Easy Series This link opens in a new windowThe entire "Made Incredibly Easy" Series for nursing education.
For Recent Graduates
- Request Extended Library AccessFor recent graduates, use this online form to request extended access to the library's NCLEX-RN practice exams and nursing resources.
Publicly Available Nursing Resources
- PubMed Central (PMC)PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- ClinicalTrials.govSearch a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- DailyMedSearch a database of the most recent drug labels (also called package inserts) submitted to the FDA.
- Medline PlusTrusted health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues for patients and their family and friends.
- Merck ManualThis free site provides information about a wide range of health topics to practitioners and the public.
- NLM Nursing ResourcesInformation about the nursing profession and nursing resources provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Open Access Journals
- PLOS MedicinePLOS Medicine publishes articles relevant to clinicians, policymakers, and researchers across a range of settings that address the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health.
- NursingOpenNursing Open is a peer reviewed open access journal that welcomes articles on all aspects of nursing and midwifery practice, research, education and policy.
- The Open Nursing JournalThe Open Nursing Journal, a peer-reviewed journal, is an important and reliable source of current information on developments in the field.
- Last Updated: Jul 29, 2024 12:41 PM
- URL: https://library.jeffersonstate.edu/Nursing-221
- Print Page