Psychology 210
Library hours
Online Learning Readiness
Frequently Asked Questions
Recommend materials
Library Home
Career ResourcesCollege Links
Process of Writing
- Writing Guide with Handbook (OpenStax)Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses.
- Elements of Style, 4th EditionCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9789897782442This edition of 'The Elements of Style'details eight elementary rules of usage, ten elementary principles of composition,'a few matters of form', and a list of commonly misused words and expressions.
Formatting & Citations
Evaluating Sources
Avoid Plagiarism
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Video Introduction to the JSCC LibrariesFollow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Articles (Databases)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information through an intuitive, state-of-the-art interface.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowVideos, Care Plans, Core Measures Topics and More. Master nursing best practices with the premier source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, provides citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
eBooks
Developmental Psychology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781616688738Publication Date: 2010-07-01Developmental psychology, also known as human development, is the scientific study of systematic psychological changes that occur in human beings over the course of the life span. Originally concerned with infants and children, the field has expanded to include adolescence and adult development, aging, and the entire life span. This book reviews research on peer relationships and social skills in school - age children; children's understanding of cognitive activities, conceptual knowledge and social experience; the adaptation of third culture kids; cross - cultural evidence supporting the existence of constraints in conceptual development among others.
Exploring Developmental Psychology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781412903356Publication Date: 2008-02-01`This is a beautifully written account of the most important ways in which developmental psychologists go about their business, illustrated with carefully chosen articles which are carefully described in order to make the designs, methodologies, analysis and interpretation of the results readily accessible to a non-expert readership.
- Psychiatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy This link opens in a new windowThis psychiatric nursing guide will help you master the assessment, management, and recovery of your mental health patients.
- eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowOffering nearly 150,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier, Ashgate Publishing, Taylor & Francis, Sage Publications and John Wiley & Sons.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for student, faculty, and researchers, Gale’s eBook platform, GVRL, delivers titles covering the most-studied subject areas using technology built for today’s student workflow. GVRL is optimized for search, accessible simultaneously from any device, integrated with Google, and loaded with tools to encourage bookmarking, downloading, sharing, and more.
Encyclopedias
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowBritannica Online Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources students need for research—all in one place.
- Credo Reference Library This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference offers over 3,000,000 reference entries from all the major academic subject areas to offer a great starting point for your research! Tons of images, audio files, videos and full text articles on any Topic you can think of, all with full citations that your teachers will applaud.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowBringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Streaming Videos
The Psychology Media Suite will add a dynamic new dimension to any collegepsychology course. Comprising more than 120 video clips and other media, the Suite is a blend of documentary segments illustrating foundational psychology concepts and principles, reports on cutting-edge research in psychology.
Subject areas include:
- Introduction to the Field of Psychology
- Learning
- Brain Neurology
- Sensation and Perception
- Attention/Consciousness
- Emotions, Stress, and Health
- Language and Intelligence
- Memory
- Developmental Psychology
- Social Psychology
- Personality
- Abnormal Psychology
- Therapy/Treatment
- Developmental PsychologyFilms On Demand Subject Set on Developmental Psychology.
- Films On Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowAt Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand has been greatly enhanced with a brand-new platform that provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands.