Speech 107 McKinney
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Video Introduction to the JSCC LibrariesFollow this link for a video introduction and orientation to the JSCC Libraries' website.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Choosing a Topic
- Research for Speech PreparationThis tutorial demonstrates the use of the Topic Selection and Research page in choosing a topic and conducting research on that topic.
Recommended Research Sources for Speech
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDiscover pro/con perspectives from authoritative voices: Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed specifically for the research needs of students at two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant Associates Program level content. It contains a wide range of essential full-text resources to help students succeed in their chosen field.
- Credo Reference Library This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference offers over 3,000,000 reference entries from all the major academic subject areas to offer a great starting point for your research! Tons of images, audio files, videos and full text articles on any Topic you can think of, all with full citations that your teachers will applaud.
- Information on Diseases & Conditions from the Nursing Reference Center Plus
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowVideos, Care Plans, Core Measures Topics and More. Master nursing best practices with the premier source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
Scholarly material on popular topics
- Alabama HistoryThe Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed by the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University with generous financial support from across the state.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis bibliographic database provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. It is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Citations and links to book and media reviews are added benefits to the America: History and Life database. It provides strong English-language journal coverage, balanced by an international perspective on topics and events. This includes English abstracts for articles published in a variety of languages.
- Careers, Professions, TradesThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States. Each occupational profile describes the duties required by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook into the next 10 years for that occupation. Each profile is in a standard format that makes it easy to compare occupations.
- Diseases and ConditionsIs your speech about a disease or condition? Use the JSCC Library's Nursing Resources page to find scholarly articles on diseases, conditions, pharmaceutical information, and more.
- United States GovernmentOfficial publications from all three branches of the Federal Government from the U.S. Government Publishing Office via the Federal Digital System. Search for documents and publications or browse for documents and publications by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.
- Last Updated: Sep 30, 2024 9:43 AM
- URL: https://library.jeffersonstate.edu/McKinneySPH107
- Print Page