English 101 Helena High School
Search All Resources
- Advanced SearchUse this option to create an advanced search using multiple search terms or limiting to content type.
- Students: Suggest MaterialStudents may use this form to suggest materials to be purchased by the libraries for the libraries.
- Faculty and Staff: Request Library AcquisitionsFaculty and staff may use this form to submit a request for library acquisitions for specific courses, departments, or programs.
- Orientation to the JSCC Libraries' WebsiteFollow this link to view a tutorial on the library website and how to use the features available.
- How to Use 'Search everything'Tutorial on using "Search Everything" feature which searches all library resources from a single search box.
Choosing a Topic
Current Issues in Reading, Writing and Visual Literacy by ISBN: 9781443880305Publication Date: 2015-10-15This volume brings together a collection of papers presented at the 2014 World Congress of the International Association of Applied Linguistics (AILA), held in Brisbane, Australia, and represents current research and practice from across the globe related to reading, writing and visual literacy. Given that globalisation has resulted in an increase in the pursuit of second language (often English) literacy for those who want to enhance their access to better education and employment options, the development of literacy skills cannot be left to chance. This book explores current efforts to tease out the variables involved in the development of literacies, and will inform educators and teacher trainers of ways to improve classroom pedagogies and increase learner literacy competencies. The volume will be of use to both new and seasoned researchers wishing to enhance their understanding of current and emerging perspectives in the development of literacies. It will also be of interest to language teachers and language policy makers as the papers address current issues in language education.
- Literacy JournalThis journal discusses issues in reading and writing literacy. This is a good source for current issues in literacy.
- Visual Literacy Research StarterThis research starter gives general information related to Visual Literacy.
Helpful Online Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information through an intuitive, state-of-the-art interface.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowSelected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, provides citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDiscover pro/con perspectives from authoritative voices: Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.