--> Skip to main content

Orientation to College: Research

The Library Website

The library website provides access to all library resources and services which includes:

  • Search Library Resources:  powerful search engine to search all library resources [print books, electronic books, research databases, reference databases] with a single search box [think "Google" for scholarly resources]
  • A guide for every course and program offered at the college which includes appropriate resources and tools for success in that course or program
  • Interactive tutorials designed to provide tools and skills for college success:
    • Organizational Strategies
    • Classroom Success Skills:  Effective Classroom Listening; Memorization Tips and Tricks; Note-taking Strategies; Reading Strategies for Class; Strategies for Success in Online Classes
    • Research Skills: Information Literacy; Finding and Citing Sources; Understand and Avoid Plagiarism; Write Like a Scholar
    • Personal Success Skills
  • Test preparation resources and practice exams [from GED through ACT, GRE and career exams such as nursing and veterinary technology]
  • Computer and technology skills tutorials
  • And more!

Virtual reference service:

  • Live chat with a professional librarian 8:00 am to 9:00 pm Monday through Thursday [til 3:00 pm on Fridays]
  • Self-service Knowledge Base let's you find the answers to your questions
  • Online forms to request research assistance from a professional librarian

Search library resources

Get started with a quick search of all the library resources.

 

Search for an online journal by keyword, subject, or title.

Search for a print book at any of our campus libraries.

Search for electronic books.

Select a course or program guide

Loading

Research & Writing Skills

Information Literacy Banner

Find and Cite Sources

One of the most time-consuming tasks when writing a paper or other assignment is digging through the vast number of sources to find what you need. Don’t get overwhelmed with all the information out there—use strategies to stay on top of it all. In this tutorial, learn how to find and evaluate different sources, and properly format your citations.

Introduction to Research Skills: Information Literacy

When you’re bombarded with information, how do you cut through it all and pick out the most important information? The key is information literacy: knowing how to effectively find, evaluate, integrate, and cite sources. When you think about all of the research you’ll do in school, it’s clear that information literacy is a skill you’ll use again and again. In this tutorial, you’ll learn the basics of information literacy as well as how to apply these skills toward your assignments.

Understand and Avoid Plagiarism

Whether you intentionally turn in an essay that you didn’t write yourself or simply forget to add the proper citation, it’s considered plagiarism. If you don’t give credit where it’s due, there can be significant and long-term consequences. In this tutorial, learn how—with planning and good study habits—you can avoid plagiarism. That’s all it takes!

Write Like a Scholar

Get the skills you need to write like a scholar! While you may have done a lot of writing in high school, you’ll need to go beyond just noting observations. In college, you’ll read and interpret various works and use them to support your own assignments. In this tutorial, you’ll learn about the main parts of scholarly writing, sources and citations, and where to turn to for help if you need it.

Information Literacy

Information Literacy

Streaming video content from Films On Demand.

Information on books and ebooks

The JSCC Libraries collectively house over 80,000 print volumes organized according to the Library of Congress Classification.

Students, faculty, and staff may borrow items from any campus library and return those items to any campus library.  To check out items, simply bring your items to the main [circulation] desk at any campus library.  

Library staff can request items from other campuses on your behalf and have the item(s) delivered to your campus via the college's courier service.  Please inquire at the circulation desk to take advantage of this service.

To locate books in print, use the Find a book option from the tabbed search box or use search box found on the Research page.  Either option is designed to search print books found in any of the four campus library locations.  [Note: Certain electronic books may appear in this search if they are held locally and loaded into our print catalog.]

Using keywords, author, or title, enter your search term and click the Search button.  The following example uses the keyword philosophy.  The search results provide the Location, Shelf Number, and Status of each item.  [Shelf numbers are explained below.]

Shelf Numbers Explained


The JSCC Libraries use Library of Congress Classification to organize our print collections.  This system simply arranges materials on the shelves by subject.  A series of letters and numbers make up the shelf number or call number and these are based on the subject, specialty, and additional information such as author, title, and date of publication.  This number is then placed on the spine of the book.  See the image below:

Image of Call Numbers

 

The call number is explained in more detail below:

Image showing call number detail

The JSCC Libraries provide access to over 200,000 electronic books via several collections.  Use the search box to find only those books that can be accessed electronically or search one of the resource databases below.

Searching via the "ebooks" only option will retrieve electronic books from different sources, therefore, access may be different depending upon the source.  See the graphic below for the options in accessing electronic books.


Loading

Information on articles & databases

The JSCC Libraries provide access to forty-nine highly acclaimed online research databases containing millions full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, scholarly journals, and reference resources.

Access to our online databases is available 24/7 and each database offers user-friendly features such as citation help, downloading & printing help, and instructional guides for using the database.

We have databases in many subjects ranging from art, biography, business, communications, literature, music, nursing, technology, and more!  Click on the Databases A to Z tab to select a database.  Highlight a database from the alphabetical drop-down list and click "Go".

Connect With Us

Knowledge Base

Search the library Knowledge Base to find answers and instructions for your library questions:

  • citing your sources
  • finding critical articles
  • logging in
  • finding and researching a speech topic
  • and more!

Research Assistance from your Campus Librarian