-->Skip to main content
The JSCC Libraries collectively house over 80,000 print volumes organized according to the Library of Congress Classification.
Students, faculty, and staff may borrow items from any campus library and return those items to any campus library. To check out items, simply bring your items to the main [circulation] desk at any campus library.
Library staff can request items from other campuses on your behalf and have the item(s) delivered to your campus via the college's courier service. Please inquire at the circulation desk to take advantage of this service.
To locate books in print, use the Find a book option from the tabbed search box or use search box found on the Research page. Either option is designed to search print books found in any of the four campus library locations. [Note: Certain electronic books may appear in this search if they are held locally and loaded into our print catalog.]
Using keywords, author, or title, enter your search term and click the Search button. The following example uses the keyword philosophy. The search results provide the Location, Shelf Number, and Status of each item. [Shelf numbers are explained below.]
Shelf Numbers Explained
The JSCC Libraries use Library of Congress Classification to organize our print collections. This system simply arranges materials on the shelves by subject. A series of letters and numbers make up the shelf number or call number and these are based on the subject, specialty, and additional information such as author, title, and date of publication. This number is then placed on the spine of the book. See the image below:
The call number is explained in more detail below:
The JSCC Libraries provide access to over 200,000 electronic books via several collections. Use the search box to find only those books that can be accessed electronically or search one of the resource databases below.
Searching via the "ebooks" only option will retrieve electronic books from different sources, therefore, access may be different depending upon the source. See the graphic below for the options in accessing electronic books.
The JSCC Libraries provide access to forty-nine highly acclaimed online research databases containing millions full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, scholarly journals, and reference resources.
Access to our online databases is available 24/7 and each database offers user-friendly features such as citation help, downloading & printing help, and instructional guides for using the database.
We have databases in many subjects ranging from art, biography, business, communications, literature, music, nursing, technology, and more! Click on the Databases A to Z tab to select a database. Highlight a database from the alphabetical drop-down list and click "Go".
Streaming video content from Films On Demand.
Search the library Knowledge Base to find answers and instructions for your library questions: